Posted in Recipes

Chocolate Cinnamon Meringues

My husband loves cinnamon.  No, seriously.  LOVES it.  You’d think living in the home of a frequent baker would be enough to make any man happy.  My man just complains that I don’t make enough things with cinnamon in them *eye roll*

Well, luckily for him, I was in the indulgent mood this morning… and I made a carrot cake (recipe to follow in the next few weeks) that resulted in two egg whites that I just couldn’t let go to waste.

So I threw together these beauties.  Aren’t they just fabulous?

lrmobile2906-2016-122120918518992429.jpeg

What I love about this recipe is that I can make these little treats in almost no time at all whenever I have a recipe that call for egg yolks and no whites.  The result is a bunch of tasty meringues that are crunchy on the outside and gloriously chewy on the inside.  Here’s how it’s done:

Beat two room temperature egg whites in a clean, grease-free bowl until they reach the stiff peak stage.  I was always told that if you could hold the bowl upside down over your head, the eggs have been beaten enough.  If not, you have some mess to clean up.

20160629_095743.jpg
Upside down with no spills!

Once your eggs are beaten, add 3/4 cup of castor sugar, 1/4 cup at a time, beating well after each addition.  You should have a thick, glossy mixture remaining.  Then fold in 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon followed by 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips.

20160629_100157.jpg
Yummy cinnamon!

Spoon out the mixture onto a paper-lined baking tray.  The meringues won’t grow too much, but be sure to leave a little space in between each one.  You can decide what size you’d like them to be.  I do about a desert spoon size for each one.  I like to add some chocolate sprinkles to the top of each one for that extra bit of flare.

lrmobile2906-2016-0318107246731512.jpeg
Ready to go in…

Then pop your little beauties into a oven preheated to 160 degrees centigrade.  Bake for 20 minutes and then turn your oven off.  Leave the meringues in the oven for another ten minutes before removing them.  Allow to cool and find a good place to hide them so you won’t have to share 😉

lrmobile2906-2016-121020847510214105.jpeg

Author:

I'm an easy-going, peace-loving follower of Jesus. I am the wife of a ruggedly handsome pastor and a newbie mother to a beautiful little boy. I am a lover of all things delightful: faith, family, friends and food.

Leave a comment